Statement of Elaine Pozycki, Chairperson of PDFNJ, in Response to Purdue Pharma Guilty Plea


Contacts: Natalie Golub, 973-382-4560,


Statement of Elaine Pozycki, Chairperson of Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey, in Response to Purdue Pharma Guilty Plea

 “Purdue Pharma’s agreement to plead guilty to felony charges in part for illegally incentivizing doctors to prescribe more opioid-based pain relievers to patients, even-though the company knew full well how highly addictive these medicines are, underscores the importance of warning patients of the risks of addiction and discussing non-opioid pain relief alternatives. Patients who are being prescribed these medications have the right to be informed, by the prescriber, of the addictive qualities of these drugs as well as any non-opioid alternatives that are available.

The Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey (PDFNJ) spearheaded and advocated for the passage of the Patient Opioid Notification Law, a New Jersey law that requires medical practitioners to discuss safer non-opioid pain relief alternatives. Seventeen states have followed suit, requiring this potentially life-saving conversation between doctor and patient. In a nation where more than 150 million opioid-painkiller prescriptions are written each year, and there are 50,000 annual opioid deaths, it is long past time for this to be the requirement in every state in the nation.”


Best known for its statewide substance use prevention advertising campaign, the Partnership for a Drug-Free New Jersey is a private not-for-profit coalition of professionals from the communications, corporate and government communities whose collective mission is to reduce demand for illicit drugs in New Jersey through media communication.  To date, more than $100 million in broadcast time and print space has been donated to the Partnership’s New Jersey campaign, making it the largest public service advertising campaign in New Jersey’s history. Since its inception, the Partnership has garnered 180 advertising and public relations awards from national, regional and statewide media organizations.